Skip To Main Content

BCSD Teacher of the Year

Each new school year one teacher is recognized at each school within Beaufort County School District to represent their school as Teacher of the Year. This position is held for one year, and is an acknowledgement of the dedication to the teaching profession. Additionally, each school year Beaufort County School District announces a District Teacher of the Year. Coosa's Teacher of the Year, Mrs. April Bryant (5th Grade Teacher), was named Beaufort County School District's Teacher of the Year for the 2023-2024 school year. This is an incredible indication of Mrs. Bryant's unwavering dedication to her students and school community. We are so proud of her and all she represents. Job well done, Mrs. Bryant! 

Photo of April Bryant and Frank Rodri as April is accepting DTOY
Group photo of all the BCSD teachers of the year.
Photo of April being named district teacher of the year.

Press Release from Beaufort County School District

Friday, September 29, 2023/ TOY 2023-24 announcement

Coosa Elementary School teacher honored as 2023-24 District Teacher of the Year

BEAUFORT – An elementary school teacher was named as the Beaufort County’s 2023-2024 District Teacher of the Year today.

The selection of April Bryant, who teaches fifth grade at Coosa Elementary School, was announced during a celebration honoring teachers of the year from all of the district’s schools. 

“I am among some of the most phenomenal teachers I have seen in my life in my career, and I was very, very shocked that they called my name but feeling beyond blessed that it was me,” said Bryant. “it’s such a beautiful platform to represent Beaufort County Schools."

Coosa Elementary School Principal Melissa Pender said Bryant was born to be a teacher.  “Mrs. Bryant is an individual that was born be in this profession; she is student centered, she consistently shares her craft with other teachers, and her classroom serves as a model for others in our district,” said Pender. “We are so happy that she's been recognized with this honor today.”

The four other finalists for 2023-2024 District Teacher of the Year were Josh Ferguson at Whale Branch Early College High School; Amanda Freeman at Mossy Oaks Elementary; James King at May River High School; and Karen Tooman at Battery Creek High School.

Bryant believes teachers are successful when they actively establish and build relationships with our learners. She wrote in her Teacher of the Year application that these relationships are built with a commitment that comes from knowing the students and their stakeholders in their education.

Bryant holds a Master of Science in Education, PreK – 6th Grade Literacy and a Bachelor of Arts in Education, Elementary and Early Childhood, with a concentration in Behavioral Studies. She has earned a Literacy Endorsement from the S.C. Department of Education, and a Gifted and Talented Endorsement from the University of South Carolina.

Becoming District Teacher of the Year is a three-step process that begins when school-level teachers of the year are selected in April. Those wishing to compete for District Teacher of the Year submit detailed applications by the end of July. 

In the second step, a selection committee consisting of parents, former educators, and community leaders from across Beaufort County reviews the applications and rates them using a numerical scoring system.  The five highest-scoring applicants are named as finalists. 

In the third step, the finalists are interviewed by a separate review committee again composed of judges from across the county. The judges scored candidates based on how well they respond to questions about current education issues.  After those interviews, the panel selects the District Teacher of the Year in September, and that person represents Beaufort County in the South Carolina State Teacher of the Year program. Finalists for the state program will be announced in February.